All Collections
Accounting and Bookkeeping Partner Resources
Partner Billing
How to transfer billing to and from a client if you are an accounting firm
How to transfer billing to and from a client if you are an accounting firm

Learn how to easily transfer your billing to another user

Mariko Newman avatar
Written by Mariko Newman
Updated over a week ago

Ensuring a seamless transition of billing responsibilities on your A2X account involves a few simple steps. Whether handing over billing to a client or taking charge, follow these steps for a hassle-free process. The transfer options below are specifically tailored to accountants and bookkeepers who pay for A2X on behalf of their clients.

The two billing transfer options this article will take you through are:

  • Transferring Billing to your client

  • Transferring Billing from a client to the accountant/bookkeeper


Transferring Billing to your Client

Step 1: Cancel Subscription
Initiate the process by cancelling the account's subscription. Head to your profile in the top right corner and navigate to the subscriptions section

Click "edit plan"

You will be redirected to the plan selection page, this is where you can choose the "cancel subscription" option:

Note: If the "Edit Plan" button takes you to a different page than the one above please follow the instruction below:

Once you are redirected to the 'Billing' page you should see a "cancel subscription' button. Once selected you will follow the cancellation process and the account will revert to trial mode.

Step 2: Invite Client as User
Invite your client as a user to the account. Go to Settings > Users and send an invitation.

Step 3: Client Re-Subscribes
Upon receiving the invitation, the client logs in and re-subscribes using their payment details. This ensures a seamless continuation of account usage without any interruptions.

Step 4: Adjust user Access
As the process concludes, you can remove access for your staff, unlink teams, or leave the account if access is no longer required. This ensures a clean and efficient transition of billing responsibility.

Important note: You do not need to switch admin user when switching billing owner, these are two separate permissions in the account).


Transferring Billing from a Client to the accountant/bookkeeper:

Step 1: Client Cancels Subscription

If you're transitioning billing from your client to you, kick off the process by asking the client to cancel their subscription. This step turns the account back to trial mode. (If your client needs help on how to cancel they can follow the article steps HERE)

Step 2: Invite Firm Billing Owner

After the client has cancelled, if they haven't yet done so, they'll need to send an account invite to whoever will be the firm billing owner. The client can do this in their Settings > Users.

Step 3: Firm Billing Owner Jumps In

Once you have accepted the invitation, the firm billing owner will simply just need to log in and re-subscribe the account. This ensures the account stays active and smoothly transitions billing responsibilities.


Conclusion: Whether you're transferring billing to a client, or from a client, these steps are designed to make the process as easy as possible for you. If you have any questions along the way, feel free to reach out!

Did this answer your question?